Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Zatopek:10 tipping competition

Guess the winning times in the men’s and women’s 10000m races to win.

Guess the winning times in the men’s and women’s 10000m races to win.


The 2020 Zatopek:10 meet was deferred due to COVID-19 and will be run on Tuesday 26 January – at Hagenauer Reserve, Box Hill. It’s the first big athletics meet in Melbourne since the pandemic.

The race is the Australian championship for 10000m.

Who’s racing?

The start lists for the meet are available here from Athletics Victoria.

Who are are the main contenders?

Tempo Journal and Athletics Australia have excellent previews of the race. Last year’s men’s winner, Stewart McSweyn won’t be racing, leaving Brett Robinson and Jack Rayner as favourites. Last year’s women’s winner, Genevieve Gregson, returns to defend her title.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Re-live the most recent running of the meet, the December 2019 edition, via our review.

By the numbers

Men’s race

Race record: 27 minutes, 22.54 seconds by Luke Kipkosgei (Kenya) in 1998

Australian record: 27 minutes, 22.55 seconds by Patrick Tiernan on 5 December 2020

Title holder: 27 minutes, 23.80 seconds by Stewart McSweyn in 2019

Olympic entry standard: 27 minutes, 28.00 seconds

Women’s race

Race record: 31 minutes, 26.10 seconds by Joyce Chepkirui (Kenya) in 2011

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Australian record: 30 minutes, 37.68 by Benita Willis on 23 August 2003

Title holder: 32 minutes, 47.83 seconds by Genevieve Gregson in 2019

Olympic entry standard: 31 minutes, 25 seconds

Where can I watch?

With a crowd restriction of 1,000 due to COVID-19 government regulations, the meet is a sell out.

You can watch a live stream of the meet on Athletics Australia’s YouTube channel.

Enter our Tipping Competition

Entries are now closed.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Recent posts:

Next article


Check out the Australian team for the World Championships in Budapest.


The opening round of the 2019 Athletics Victoria winter season took place at Jells Park on 4 May with cross country relays.


Announcement of the winners of our annual Photo Competition.


Check out the top performances by Australian athletes since 1 October 2022.