Zatopek:10 2014

Lakeside Stadium, 11 December 2014

Four years after winning the de Castella junior 3000m Brett Robinson added the Zatopek crown to his resume, taking victory in 28:45.36 from Duer Yoa (28:46.46) and Eritrea’s Samson Gebreyohannes Gezaha (28:49.42).

Kenya’s Veronicah Wanjiru took line honours in the women’s race in 32:22.22.

Wanjiru led home Eloise Wellings (32:26.59) and Madeleine Heiner (32:44.71), while Celia Sullohern (33:05.89) took the bronze medal in the national title just ahead of marathoner Jessica Trengove (33:06.48).

After second place finishes in the prior two years Zak Patterson took victory in the de Castella junior men’s 3000m in a close tussle with Jack Stapleton, 8:15.64 to 8:15.83.

It was a repeat win for Kate Spencer in the junior women’s 3000m in a fast 9:10.82 ahead of Courtney Powell (9:23.42) and Annabel McDermott (9:27.98).

Alex Rowe surged towards the line for a commanding win and fast season opener of 1:46.91 in the men’s 800m.

Meet results

76 more Zatopek:10 2014 photos