Zatopek:10 2012

Lakeside Stadium, 8 December 2012

Reigning champion Emmanuele Bett reclaimed his title in dominant fashion. Seen here following pacemaker Kane Willie, and being trailed by Ben St Lawrence, he ran away for a 36 second victory in 27:59.23 in windy conditions.

“While the pacemaker was in the race, it was very nice,” Bett said, “but once I was on my own I felt (the wind) here,” he said pointing to his chest.

The race for second became a fascinating affair, with English marathoner Ben Moreau catching a tiring Ben St Lawrence and building a 10 metre gap with two laps remaining. But St Lawrence rallied, and comfortably took second, and his third consecutive national 10000m title, with a performance of 28:35.92. Moreau clocked 28:40.83 for a personal best of almost a minute, with Mitchel Brown (28:44.16) and Brett Robinson (28:45.39) taking the minor medals in the Australian championship.

Neely Spence became the first American to win the women’s race, leading all the way to win her debut 10000 metres in 32:16.51.

Lara Tamsett took the national title out for the second time following victory in 2008, running 33:03.84 ahead of Linda Spencer (33:08.30) and Jessica Trengove (33:36.77).

Declan Wilson (444) led for much of the de Castella junior men’s 3000 metres. He then lost and regained the lead in an exciting last lap to win in 8:07.90 from Zak Patterson (8:08.63) and Jacob Birtwhistle (8:09.12).

Knox Athletics took out the women’s 4x400m, the Victorian title for the distance.

The lead pack in the Ondieki junior women’s 3000m with two laps remaining. In the race to the line Tamsyn McMahon edged ahead for a 9:53.34 victory over Samantha Prime (9:54.37).

Meet results

178 more photos from Zatopek:10 2012