Zatopek:10 2011

Lakeside Stadium, 10 December 2011

It was an all Kenyan affair at the inaugural running of Zatopek at the newly developed Lakeside Stadium at Albert Park, which became Melbourne’s premier athletics venue following demolition of the spiritual home of the sport at Olympic Park.

Emmanuel Bett was victor in 27:39.33 from Bitan Karoki (27:40.11) and Micah Kogo (27:50.50).

Ben St Lawrence retained his national 10000m crown in finishing fourth across the line in 28:01.68, ahead of David McNeill (28:12.66) and Harry Summers (28:39.04) after national 5000m record holder Craig Mottram faded in the second half of the race to finish in 28:52.20.

“When (Craig) Mottram dropped back I tried to keep up on the shoulder of the Africans, and was feeling pretty strong and good for the win, but they surged with a couple of kilometres to go and I didn’t have enough to go with them,” St Lawrence said.

It was also Kenyan dominance in the women’s race, with Joyce Chepkirui and Emily Chebet lapping the rest of the field. Chepkirui got to the line first in 31:26.10, with Chebet finishing four seconds back in 31:30.22.

National cross country champion Emily Brichacek converted her success to the track, taking out the national title in 33:02.55.

Jordan Williamsz outkicked the field in the De Castella junior men’s 3000m, crossing the line in 8:13.75 ahead of Joshua Johnson and James Connor.

Celia Sullohern ran from the front in the junior women’s race to win by the length of the straight in 9:26.28.

Meet results

93 more photos from Zatopek:10 2011